Sunday, September 23, 2018
Home > Editor Picks > Parliament Approves Newly Appointed Security Chiefs

Parliament Approves Newly Appointed Security Chiefs

The Appointments Committee of Parliament on Wednesday approved all the three newly appointed security chiefs.

The Tower Post has learnt that the committee, which is chaired by Speaker Rebecca Kadaga, cleared Gen. Elly Tumwiine, Okoth Ochola and Brig Sabiiti Muzeyi, who were appointed Security Minister, Inspector General of Police (IGP) and Deputy IGP by President Museveni on Sunday.

Deputy IGP Brig Sabiiti Muzei told MPs that he was going to apply his knowledge of countering terrorism and intelligence in his new Police Job.

Sabiiti was formerly Commander of Military Police. He replaced Okoth Ochola as Deputy IGP.

Okoth Ochola replaced long-serving Gen Kale Kayihura, while Gen Tumwiine took over from Gen Henry Tumukunde.