Home > SPORT > Rugby: Uganda National 7s to Kickoff this Weekend

Rugby: Uganda National 7s to Kickoff this Weekend

The 2018 National Rugby Sevens Series get underway officially this weekend at Kyadondo Rugby Club.

Record winners Hima Cement Heathens will host the opening round of the National Sevens circuit at Kyadondo Rugby Club but national team players will not lace up for their respective clubs as the World Cup nears.

This year’s edition will see teams engaging in more action, with three more stops added to the series.

Kyadondo will host two legs with Hima Cement Heathens and Toyota Buffaloes hosting on June 9 and June 30 respectively.

Dam Waters in Jinja will host the second leg on June 23 before action heads west to Mbarara for the first time on July 14.

This year, Legends will host three legs with Shell Rimula Rhinos handed an event of their own on 28th July to add to the usual Rujumba Memorial Sevens (Black Pirates) scheduled for 20th July and Edward Kitaka Memorial Sevens (Betway Kobs) set for 25th August after a 3 weeks break to allow for the Gold Cup games in Kampala.

The three-month circuit will climax with the Floodlights Sevens at Kyadondo on September 1.

Kyadondo (Heathens) Sevens Pools

  • Pool A: Kobs, Rhinos, Warriors and Sevens Academy
  • Pool B: Heathens, Rams, Mongers and MUBS
  • Pool C: Buffaloes, Pirates, Jinja Hippos and Stallions

2018 National Sevens Series Calendar

  • June 9: Kyadondo (Hima Cement Heathens)
  • June 16: Kabale, Kigezi 7s (Invitational)
  • June 23: Dam Waters Jinja (Jinja Hippos)
  • June 30: Kyadondo (Toyota Buffaloes)
  • July 14: Mbarara Sevens
  • July 21: Legends (Black Pirates, Rujumba 7s)
  • July 28: Legends (Shell Rimula Rhinos- Coronation 7s)
  • August 25: Legends (Kobs, Edward Kitaka Memorial 7s)
  • September 1: Kyadondo (Floodlights 7s)
  • September 8: Bantwala 7s (Invitational)

Past National Sevens Winners

  • 2017: Kobs
  • 2016: Kobs
  • 2015: Kobs
  • 2014: Buffaloes
  • 2013: Heathens
  • 2012: Heathens
  • 2011: Heathens
  • 2010: Impis
  • 2009: Heathens
  • 2008: Heathens
  • 2007: Heathens
  • 2006: Kobs
  • 2005: Heathens
  • 2004: Heathens
  • 2003: Heathens
  • 2002: Heathens
  • 2001: Heathens