Home FEATURES Raila Odinga to IEBC: Stop Frustrating my Voters, Agents

Raila Odinga to IEBC: Stop Frustrating my Voters, Agents


NASA presidential candidate Raila Odinga has asked the IEBC to desist from frustrating his agents at polling stations.

The Opposition coalition wanted to adopt polling stations but its brigade were required to have letters.

Most of the agents had letter heads bearing Raila’s symbol instead of that of the National Super Alliance.

“IEBC must order RO’s to stop frustrating my agents in the pretext of asking for appointment letters. They are on my personal letterhead, not NASA’s,” Raila tweeted on Tuesday.

Wiper leaders noted NASA is a coalition party and that their letter heads bear party names Wiper, Amani National Congress, Chama Cha Mashinani, ODM and Ford Kenya.

“My leader Raila is in ODM and I am in Wiper. Both of us are in NASA. So they should be allowed at the station,” deputy presidential candidate Kalonzo Musyoka (Wiper) said before voting.

In Lamu, party agent Mohamed Said said he provided all documents required for him to be at the station but that he was still denied access.

“If they had any problem with us they should have said so from the start. They assured us there was no problem. Why now?” he said.

But county IEBC coordinator Mohamed Adan denied the claims, adding no one was locked out of the station.

The party intensified the ‘adopt-a-polling-station’ drive and Raila urged NASA supporters to vote and remain at polling stations to guard the presidential vote and prevent rigging.

He announced plans to place five agents per station, two inside and three outside, armed with the voters register.

Acting Interior CS Fred Matiang’i quashed this plan but the Opposition was defiant.

Millions of people go to the polls on Tuesday amid fears that the latest electoral clash between its foremost political dynasties could once again descend into violence.

Featured Photo: NASA presidential candidate Raila Odinga casts his vote at Kibera Primary School in Nairobi during the general election on August 8, 2017. /REUTERS




Previous articleKenya’s First Lady Lines Up for Four Hours to Vote
Next articlePHOTOS: Uhuru Kenyatta, Raila Odinga Cast their Ballots