EC Kicks Off Nominations for Local Government Residual, By-Elections

The nominations of candidates for residual and by-elections in local governments across the country have started.  The two-day exercise will start on Monday and end on Tuesday.

Paul Bukenya the Spokesperson of the Electoral Commission says that the returning officers are set to nominate the candidates after successfully updating the registers.

Bukenya added that for the Kayunga District LCV Chairperson and other by-elections, the Electoral Commission has already issued guidelines including asking candidates to observe the COVID 19 Standard Operating Procedures-SOPs.

Bukenya added that Police have been notified to enforce the guidelines and asked the candidates to cooperate with it.

In Kayunga, the Democratic Party-DP has fronted Anthony Waddimba, the National Unity Platform-NUP Harriet Nakwedde. The NRM party is also set to nominate Andrew Muwonge contest in elections for LCV Chairperson seat.

In Nakasongola, the by-elections will take place in Katuugo town to fill the position of LCIII Chairperson after George William Sempungu who was elected in general elections died after swearing-in.

Two aspirants who include Fred Lubinga of National Unity Platform and Gaster Lule Musisi of National Resistance Movement have already picked forms to be nominated today.

Fred Lubinga the LC III Chairperson aspirant of the National Unity Platform has asked the Electoral Commission to conduct free and fair elections so that the residents vote for their preferred candidate.

The Electoral Commission also announced that residual elections will take place in Kazwama town council to fill the position of LCIII Chairperson and Parish Councilors’ after it canceled the general elections in areas over mix up of registers.

In Kazwama Town Council, Umar Wasswa (Independent) and Fred Byabagambi (NRM) will contest again after EC announced that no more nominations will be done again.

Anthony Mwaita Ambrose the Returning Officer for Nakasongola district says that no fresh nominations will be held for the Town Council but they will proceed with those who were nominated in the general elections.

Mwaita asked the candidates to only come with proposers and seconders only in observance of SOPS.

“We don’t expect convoy or crowds accompanying candidates at the venue for nomination. These will be blocked in case they turn up.” Mwaita said

There will also be nominations for candidates representing Special Interest Groups for Nakasongola Town Council, Kakooge, and Lwabiyata sub-counties.

Elections for all residual and by-elections polling days have been fixed for December 16 and the campaign meetings will be conducted for a period of thirteen days from Thursday 2nd to 14th December 2021.