Home Main Story South Sudan: Kiir Fires Two County Commissioners

South Sudan: Kiir Fires Two County Commissioners

President Salva Kiir

South Sudan’s President Salva Kiir has sacked two county commissioners in Upper Nile State, citing powers in line with the 2018 peace agreement.

In a presidential decree issued on Monday evening, Kiir removed the commissioner of Melut County, Deng Joh Angok, and the commissioner of Fashoda County, Joseph Abang Adiang.

In another decree, President Kiir appointed Barac Chol Aginy as the new commissioner of Melut County and Royo Yor Deng Kur as the commissioner of Fashoda County.

The presidential decree gave no reasons for the changes.

President Kiir, Frist Vice President Riek Machar and other political figures signed a peace agreement in 2018 that ended five years of civil war.

In August last year, the parties to the peace agreement extended the transitional government’s time in office for another two years.

The end of the transitional period was scheduled for 2022 but was pushed back to December 2024 due to the lack of progress on many provisions of the agreement.

Previous articleIKON Awards: M-Net Triumphs with Sanyu and Prestige
Next articlePearl Magic Loko Breaks New Ground with Two Thrilling Original Dramas