Home EDUCATION University Football League Draws Released, Number of Teams Increased

University Football League Draws Released, Number of Teams Increased


The number of teams participating in the University Football League has been increased from the former 12 to sixteen in the 2017 edition.

The development was revealed on Wednesday morning at a special press briefing after which draws would be conducted.

Four teams including Mbarara based Bishop Stuart University, Bugema University, St. Lawrence University and YMCA comprehensive institute join the former twelve to complete the rout.

The Nile Special and Money Gram sponsored league is one of the major sports events on Ugandan Universities’ calendars and with the addition of more teams, one can hope for better.

Kampala University are the defending champions of the highly coveted league and they went ahead to excel even at the regional level.

Full Draws

Group A
1. Busitema
2. KIU
3. Makerere
4. UCU

Group B
1. Bishop Stuart
2. Kyambogo
3. Mbarara University of Science & Technology
4. Uganda Martyrs University

Group C
1. Bugema
2. Kampala University
3. Gulu University
4. YMCA Comprehensive Institute

Group D

1. Nkumba
2. Kumi
3. St. Lawrence

Previous articleOPINION: The ICC Can’t Live with Africa, But it Can’t Live Without it Either
Next articleFirst Lady Urges Parents to Feed School Children
Don Atungisa is a passionate writer, content curator and a digital marketing practitioner. Twitter??@don_atngz . Let's connect and have a chat.