NRM’s Rose Lilly Akello Wins Kaabong Woman MP By-election

Rose Lilly Akello has been declared the winner of the Kaabong District Woman MP by-election held on Monday.

Kaabong district returning officer Sarah Iyolu declared Akello winner after she polled 21,814 votes ahead of Christine Tubo Nakwang’s (independent) 21,558 votes and opposition Forum for Democratic Change (FDC) Judith Adiaka Nalibe’s 593 votes.

Some 47,822 voters cast their votes out of 59,082 registered voters in 19 sub-counties of Kaabong district. A total of 3,857 votes were invalid – more votes than the margin between Akello and Tubo.

Tubo had won the February 2016 poll but her election was nullified the High court and the cancellation was upheld by the Court of Appeal.

Tubo was accused of bribing voters in the six polling stations of Nikwapicha, Nachukulu, Morouetome, Kathile sub-county, Kathile trading centre and Namamutau.

Presiding judge Billy Kainamura ruled that Tubo flouted the Parliamentary Elections Act, 2005 by slaughtering a ram for a feast and buying drinks for over 100 voters on the eve of the February 18 parliamentary elections.

She was also accused of distributing cash and other items to her opponent’s supporters to persuade them to vote her.

Akello now bounces to Parliament after she represented Kaabong in the 9th parliament.

Charity Mbabazi