Home Editor Picks Age Limit: Rebel MPs Thrown out of NRM Caucus

Age Limit: Rebel MPs Thrown out of NRM Caucus


At least nine Ruling National Resistance Movement (NRM) party “rebel MPs” have ejected out of a meeting to discuss plans to remove article 102b of Uganda’s constitution to allow three-decade president Yoweri Museveni stand for reelection beyond the age of 75.

MPs Theodore Ssekikubo (Lwemiyaga), Mohammad Nsereko (Kampala Central), Barnabas Tinkasimiire (Buwaga West), Wilfred Nuwagaba (Ndorwa East), John Baptist Nambeshe (Manjiya County), Gaffa Mbwatekamwa (Kasambya County), Patrick Nsamba (Kassanda County), Sylvia Rwabwogo (Kabarole District) and James Acidiri (Maracha East) were kicked out of the meeting at Office of the Prime Minister in Kampala on Friday.

They have been accused of opposing the age limit motion by Igara West MP Raphael Magyezi.

Kinkizi West MP James Kaberuka also attracted the wrath of chief whip Ruth Nankabirwa after questioning why the MPs had been kicked out.


Photo: Courtesy




Previous articleAfricell Launches Exciting Offers on Voice Bundles
Next articleUhuru Receives Election Laws Bill