Micheal Mawanda Beats NRM’s Andrew Martial in Igara East By-Election

Independent Candidate Michael Mawanda Maranga has been declared winner of Thursday’s Igara East Constituency by-election.

Mawanda was declared winner by Bushenyi District Returning Officer Mbabazi Godfrey at a few minutes to midnight.

With 16,209 votes, Mawanda beat National Resistance Movement (NRM) party candidate Andrew Martial, who got 12,991 votes.

Other candidates, Katana K Benjamin (Independent) got 1,477 votes, Ninsiima Christine Bekunika (FDC) got 497 votes, Bedads Kananura (Independent) got 480 votes and David Armstrong (Independent) got 76 votes.

The Igara East Parliamentary seat fell vacant in October this year after Andrew Martiall’s election was annulled.

Moses Kayigwa