Home Editor Picks FDC’s Muzanira Wins Rukungiri Woman MP By-Election

FDC’s Muzanira Wins Rukungiri Woman MP By-Election


The Forum for Democratic Change (FDC) flag bearer Betty Muzanira was declared winner of Thursday’s Rukungiri District Woman Member of Parliament by election.

The Rukungiri District Returning Officer declareg Muzanira winner with 50,611 votes, beating her biggest rival, Winfred Matsiko of the National Resistance Movement (NRM) party who got 46,329 votes.

The results placed Independent candidate Prisca Mbaguta in third position with 993 votes and People’s Progressive Party’s Fabith Kukundakwe got 183 votes.

Jubilant FDC supporters and officials were seen dancing in celebration after Muzanira was declared winner at around midnight.

During the polls on Thursday, the FDC and NRM camps accused each other of voter bribery and inciting violence among the voters.

FDC’s Vicent Kyamadidi was earlier in the day arrested over allegations of vote rigging.

The Rukungiri Woman MP seat fell vacant after Court of Appeal nullified the election of NRM’sWinfred Masiko following a petition by FDC’s Betty Muzanira.



Previous articleParliament Passes Tax on Social Media, Mobile Money
Next articlePHOTOS: Uganda Waragi Pineapple Hits the Shelves