NRM’s Naome Kibaaju Wins Sheema North Constituency By-Election

National Resistence Movement (NRM) flag-bearer Naome Kibaaju was declared winner of Monday’s Sheema North Constituency Member of Parliament by-election.

Sheema Electoral district returning officer Deborah Asiimwe declared Mrs. Kibaaju winner with 11326 votes, beating Forum for Democratic Change (FDC) party candidate Guma Nuwagaba who garnered 7322 votes.

Guma, who was previously the RDC for Mitooma district, lost to Naome Kibaaju in the NRM primaries before crossing to FDC, where he was made flag-bearer in the by-election.

The Sheema North Constituency MP seat fell vacant after Science, Technology and Innovations Minister, Hon. Elioda Tumwesigye, opted to vacate the seat and represent in Parliament the people of the recently newly created Sheema Municipality that was curved out of Sheema North and Sheema South constituencies.


Johnson Ategeka