List: Here are BoU Officials Whose Wealth is Being Investigated by IGG

The inspector general of government (IGG) Irene Mulyagonja is investigating how over 50 Bank of Uganda (BoU) officials acquired their wealth.

The investigation is being done in line with the Leadership Code Act 2002.

The controversial sale of Crane Bank put BoU in the spotlight, with its director of supervision Justine Bagyenda’s wealth investigated by the Financial Intelligence Authority (Fia).

The IGG is now seeking to probe into the acquisition of wealth into the central bank, and the wealth of BoU’s high and mighty is being exposed.

Already, the wealth of deputy governor Louis Kasekende has left tongues wagging. Kasekende owns properties works over Shs 10bn.

And Kasekende is not the only one whose wealth will face closer scrutiny in the coming days – if the IGG probe continues.

Standard Chartered Bank Speaks on Edith Kasekende Wealth Report

Governor Mutebile is also being investigated – and so are other officials at the central bank.


Full List of BoU officials under IGG probe over wealth accumulation


Alex Owiny: deputy director for Gulu branch

Allan Norman Lwetabe: assistant director for financial markets department (FMD)

Angella Kasirye: assistant director for corporate affairs

Balam Sempala: deputy director for deposit protection fund

Ben Sekabira: director for financial markets

Bosco Bainamazima: Fortportal branch manager

Charity Mugumya: director of communication

Charles Abuka: director of statistics

Charles Mugisa: chief accountant

Christine Alupo: director for board affairs

Cynthia Nakayizza: assistant director for banking department

David Gulemye: deputy director for financial policy and strategic risk

David Kalyango: chief internal auditor

Deborah Kabahweza: executive director of finance

Edward Mugerwa: director for IT operations

Elliot Mwebya: IT director

Emmanuel Tumusiime Mutebile: Governor BoU

Francis Kakeeto: Mbale branch manager

Hannington Wasswa: director for commercial banking

Hassan Nyangabyaki: deputy director for board affairs

Isaac Seguya: deputy director for statistics department

James Banda Byamukama: ITO (Information Technology Operations)

James Kahoza: board member

Joanita Babumba: deputy director for agricultural credit schemes

Josephine Ossiya: board member

Joyce Okello: personal assistant to Governor Mutebile

Judy Obitre Gama: board member

Julius Turyamwijuka: Masaka branch

Kalisa Katongole: assistant director for operations

Kande Sabiti: procurement manager

Keith Muhakanizi: board member

Kelvin Kizito Kiyingi, deputy director for communication department

Kenneth Egesa: Director for financial stability

Kezekia Kizito: deputy director for microfinance institutions

Lorna Nzaro: Director for IT business automation

Louis Kasekende: deputy governor BoU

Macky Aomu: director national payment systems

Mary Katarikawe:  director of operations

Michael Senkubuge: deputy director for systems and assurance

Milton Opio Orech: director of security

Natamba Bazinzi: assistant director for administration currency

Olive Kamuli: director for medical administration

Oscar Edwin: pension administration

Phillip Wabulya: director for petroleum fund

Richard Mayebo: director for risk and strategic management

Solomon Kavuma: deputy director for domestic market operations

Sophie Kironde: assistant director for commercial banking operations

Stephen Semuga: director administrative services

Sylivia Juuko: head of media relations

Timothy Sekirayi: deputy director for banking in charge of customer services

Tumubwine Twinemanzi: director for supervision

Valentine Otangole: director for banking

Vito Semakula: assistant director for security and compliance

William Kalema: board member

Yusuf Mukiibi: assistant director for accounts department



The Tower Post