Home ENTERTAINMENT Bobi Wine, Eddy Kenzo, Chameleone Left Out as MTV MAMAs Nomination List...

Bobi Wine, Eddy Kenzo, Chameleone Left Out as MTV MAMAs Nomination List is Released


Top Ugandan artistes including BET Award winner Eddy Kenzo, Presidential hopeful Bobi Wine, Lord mayor contestant Jose Chameleone among many others have been left out in the list of nominees for MTV Base MAMA awards 2020.

The list which is made up of 10 categories has only six Ugandans who include John Blaq, Daddy Andre, Sheebah karungi, Spice Diana, Bebe Cool and Vinka despite having the awards being hosted in Uganda.

Sheebah and John Blaq both scooped double nominations for Female Artiste of the year Breakthrough artiste of the year respectively.

The other four Ugandans on the list of six are all nominated on Best Ugandan Act of the year, a category that was added in because Uganda is the hosting country.

Self-proclaimed dancehall “King” Cindy Sanyu has also missed on the list where her nemesis Sheebah got two nominations.

Parte after Parte hit maker Big Trill also missed out on the list despite making a hit that was a club banger across the world.

Youngster John Blaq has also scooped two nominations despite having been blasted by unforgiving Ugandans as having a poor stage performance at his start.

See Full Nominations List below

Best Female
Simi (Nigeria)
Sheebah (Uganda)
Sho Madjozi (South Africa)
Busiswa (South Africa)
Yemi Alade (Nigeria)
Soraia Ramos (Cape Verde)
Tiwa Savage (Nigeria)

Best Male 
Burna Boy (Nigeria)
Innoss’B (Democratic Republic of Congo)
Kabza De Small (South Africa)
Harmonize (Tanzania)
Fireboy DML (Nigeria)
Master KG (South Africa)
Rema (Nigeria)

Best Group
Blaq Diamond (South Africa)
Sauti Sol (Kenya)
Kabza De Small / DJ Maphorisa (South Africa)
Calema (São Tomé and Príncipe)
Ethic (Kenya)
Rostam (Tanzania)

Artist of the Year
Burna Boy (Nigeria)
Calema (São Tomé and Príncipe)
Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania)
Master KG (South Africa)
Davido (Nigeria)
Tiwa Savage (Nigeria)
Wizkid (Nigeria)

Best Breakthrough Act
Elaine (South Africa)
Tems  (Nigeria)
Omah Lay (Nigeria)
Zuchu (Tanzania)
John Blaq (Uganda)
Sha Sha (Zimbabwe)
Focalistic (South Africa)

Best Hip Hop  
Nasty C (South Africa)
Suspect 95 (Cote d’Ivoire)
Khaligraph Jones (Kenya)
Kwesi Arthur (Ghana)
NGA (Angola)
OMG (Senegal)

Best Ugandan Act 
Bebe Cool
John Blaq
Daddy Andre
Spice Diana

Best Lusophone Act
Calema (São Tomé and Príncipe)
Preto Show (Angola)
Anna Joyce (Angola)
Mr Bow (Mozambique)
Nelson Freitas (Cape Verde)
Soraia Ramos (Cape Verde)

Best Francophone Act 
Innoss’B (Democratic Republic of Congo)
Suspect 95 (Cote d’Ivoire)
Dip Doundou Guiss (Senegal)
Stanley Enow (Cameroon)
Fally Ipupa (Democratic Republic of Congo)
Gaz Mawete (Democratic Republic of Congo)

Alone Together: Best Lockdown Performance
Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania) – Africa Day Benefit Concert
Black Motion (South Africa) – Red Bull Rendezvous
Niniola ft Busiswa (Nigeria / SA) – Africa Day Benefit Concert
Singuila (Congo) – DCDR Series
AKA (South Africa) – AKA TV
Yemi Alade (Nigeria) – Poverty (live session)



Previous articleFULL LIST: MTV MAMA Nominations List Revealed, See Which Ugandans Made it
Next articleTwo Killed as Truck Crushes Boda Boda in Kireka