Seven Candidates Nominated for Aruu North Seat

The Electoral Commission has cleared seven candidates, including five independents, to contest for the Aruu North parliamentary seat by-election.

Two more candidates belong to the ruling National Resistance Movement (NRM) and Democratic Party (DP) political parties.

The nominees are: James Nabinson Kidega Nock (NRM), Benard Obina Ology (DP)  and independent candidates Lucy Aciro Otim, David Ojera,  Henry Komakech Banya, Francis Nyero Elton Lukale and Justine Oryema Boswell.

Robert Komakech Obina, Onen Benard Okeny (FDC) and Vincent Obutu Okot had earlier picked forms but never returned them for nomination.

Okeny (FDC) reportedly stepped down in favour of Aciro’s candidature.

According to Pader District returning officer Joseph Omona, campaigns start today March 13 and will end on April 3, ahead of voting on April 6.




Samuel Kamugisha