Home BUSINESS BOU Licenses Two New Commercial Banks

BOU Licenses Two New Commercial Banks


Afriland First Bank Uganda Limited and Opportunity Bank have been licensed by the Bank of Uganda to operate as commercial banking institutions.

The total of commercial banks in Uganda now stands at 26.

Opportunity Bank has previously been operating as a Credit Institution.

Here is a list of all commercial banks in Uganda

  1. ABC Capital Bank Limited
  2. Bank of Africa-Uganda
  3. Bank of Baroda
  4. Bank of India (Uganda) Limited
  5. Barclays Bank of Uganda Limited
  6. Cairo International Bank Limited
  7. Centenary Rural Development Bank Group Limited
  8. Citibank Uganda
  9. Commercial Bank of Africa (Uganda) Limited
  10. dfcu Bank Limited
  11. Diamond Trust Bank Uganda Limted
  12. Eco Bank Uganda Limited
  13. Equity Bank Uganda
  14. Exim Bank (Uganda0
  15. Finance Trust Bank
  16. Guaranty Trust Bank (Uganda) Limited
  17. KCB Bank Uganda Limited
  18. NC Bank Uganda Limited
  19. Orient Bank Limited
  20. Stanbic Bank Uganda Limited
  21. Standard Chartered Bank Uganda Limited
  22. Tropical Bank Limited
  23. United Bank of Africa (Uganda) Limited
  24. Housing Finance Bank Limited

What’s a commercial bank?

A commercial bank is a company licensed to carry out financial institution business in Uganda and whose primary business consists mainly in the acceptance of call, demand, savings and time deposits withdrawable by cheque or otherwise in the capacity of the bank



Previous articleKampala Residents with Poorly Built Houses to be Evicted
Next articleHigh Court Orders 127 Lusanja Residents to Vacate Land