Home > Main Story > FUFA Declares Magogo Unopposed in Presidency Race

FUFA Declares Magogo Unopposed in Presidency Race

The Federation of Uganda Football Association – FUFA has declared Moses Magogo unopposed in the race for the body’s presidency.

This was declared by Fufa Electoral Commission chairman Mathias Bwire upon completion of the nomination process that saw two aspirants including Makindye West MP Allan Ssewanyana and Proline FC proprietor Mujib Kasule fail to meet the prerequisite requirements.

“By the powers entrusted to Fufa Electoral Committee, we hereby declare Hon Moses Magogo and his executive members as duly nominated with all requirements provided as the Fufa Electoral Code and statutes,” Bwire wrote in a circular.

Unlike in other elections, Magogo will be required to raise 50% +1 vote for him to be declared President meaning at least 45 of the 88 delegates will need to in his favor.

The Budiope East Member of Parliament will become the longest serving FUFA President if the FUFA delegates conference elects him in August 2021.

He will surpass Kabaka Daudi Chwa who led the federation for 10 years.